In Alberta, elections are held every 4 years. The next general municipal election will be held on October 18, 2021.

Town residents will elect one (1) Mayor and six (6) Councillors in the upcoming election.

Candidate Information

The Local Authorities Election Act (as amended) governs municipal elections in Alberta. It sets out rules and regulations for candidates, donors, electors, and election administrators that must be followed before, during and after an election.

The Government of Alberta has passed Bill 29, the Local Authorities Election Amendment Act, 2020, which made a number of important changes to the Local Authorities Election Act that will affect upcoming local elections.

These amendments include changes to:

• Nomination period
• Contributions to campaigns
• Advertising

All candidates are encouraged to develop a working knowledge of the Local Authorities Election Act.

It is recommended that candidates seek legal advice, where possible, regarding their obligations.

Nomination Package 
Candidate Information Package

Election Resources

The Province of Alberta provides election resources and information for candidates.

Additional resources can be found on the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association (AUMA) website by clicking the link below.

Returning Officer:

Betty Malica
Phone: 780-895-2010




* This page is under development